Photoshop Development based on User Testing and Peer Assessment.

In this stage I presented my ideas to both my peers and to children of the 8+ age- group. Now that I have made three mock-ups of my ideas I want to put them to the test. When I have gathered some primary feedback about my work I can then narrow down my selection to just one idea for each of the concepts.

Firstly, when presenting my ideas to my peers for Peer Assessment the following comments/ideas of improvement were made:

For the Front Cover:

The general consensus believed that the initial ideas were good but they liked the idea of the ‘sustainable food house’ as they felt it was simple but effective. They also liked the colour scheme and felt that the typography worked well with the design.

The only improvement to make for this design that was made was to perhaps include a similar design on the back cover! To tackle this I could perhaps include similar colours/ imagery?

For the 1st Inner Layout Idea:

It was said that the idea was fun however they found the idea of the cartoon hard to make out. Maybe this was because the layout was too busy? They also said that the idea of a cartoon design was perhaps too ‘boyish’ as comics like ‘Batman’ are usually associated with this audience. Maybe to improve this idea it would be suitable to create a design suitable for both genders!

For the 2nd Inner Layout Idea:

The main group said that they liked the design because it was very suitable for the idea of recipes for the kitchen.

For the 3rd Inner Layout Idea:

There was much interest in this final design as it was an idea which was a little different and outside the box. They said that the layout would be suitable for the audience as children could engage with the ideas. The character they liked too. The comments were mainly positive for this design, and so, for this group this idea worked the best.

Now that I had received comments from my peers, I also decided to get ideas from the actual target audience. I visited the Hive library in Worcester with my designs and asked a sample group of that age-group as well as their parents what they thought of the designs.

Here is the original questions that were asked in this stage ( I asked a mixture of open and closed questions):

For children of the correct age-group:

Do you like the designs? Yes No

If ‘No’ Why? ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Which idea would you most like to read and why? ……………………………………………………………..

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Do you think the use of the colour is good? Yes No

The Main Answers from this audience:

Do you like the designs? The main answer was yes

Which idea would you most like to read and why? The second and third ideas were of popular choice and this was because of the content and colours that were used with the layers.

Do you think the use of the colour is good? The main answer was yes! 

Now I asked some questions to the parents to get a wider response:

Do you think your children would like the designs, yes or no?

If ‘no’ why?…………………………………………………………………….

……………………………………………………………………………………

……………………………………………………………………………………

Which of the designs do you think your children would like and why? ………..

……………………………………………………………………………………………………….

……………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Would you buy any of these designs for you chidren? Yes No

If ‘no’ why? ………………………………………………………………………………….

…………………………………………………………………………………………………….

……………………………………………………………………………………………………….

The main response from this audience, which represent the ‘family audience’:

Do you think your children would like the designs? The main response to this question was yes.

Which of the designs do you think your children would like and why? There was a mixed response for this question with comments on all three. The idea of the cartoon concept was found interesting as well as the ‘activity’ idea.

Would you buy any of these designs for you chidren? The main response was yes, however, comments of improvement were made about the colour scheme.

Now that I have gained some ideas about my designs, it is time to narrow again my ideas to just one for each concept. Here is a list compiling the pros and cons of the layout ideas:

                                 1) Mock Up Idea 1 copy 2) mock up idea 4 copy

3)mock up idea 3 copy

Developed Ideas Pros Cons
‘Mock Up’ Idea One
  • The idea of the design is quite unique.
  • There is a lot of potential for this design. I.e. could add better colours, features, characters etc.?
  • The idea of a ‘cartoon’ is quite different to other ideas that are usually involved in children’s recipe books.
  • Maybe the idea is too busy and detailed?
  • Maybe the design is too MUCH like a storybook as opposed to a recipe.
  • There are limitations into this design , i.e. where the imagery/ designs are positioned.
‘Mock Up’ Idea Two
  • The idea expresses clearly the idea of the ‘kitchen’
  • The design is quite clear and there is room to add any additional features to it.
  • The images surrounding the page give the idea of this ‘storybook effect’.
  • There is room to alter the colours on the page layout?
 

  • Maybe this idea is too generic for a recipe book?
  • The design idea may be a bit too simplistic?
‘Mock Up’ Idea Three
  • The idea of an activity sheet is effective and can help when getting children to learn.
  • The use of a character has also been proven to be an interesting characteristic to the page.
  • Maybe the idea might be too complex to manufacture continuously?
  • What will be included underneath the flaps? Information maybe?

Here I have listed pros and cons for the developed design ideas  – based on the findings of my research and the primary information I received from my peers. Now I will select one of the designs which was the most influential and popular from my designs:

mock up idea 3 copy

I have chosen this idea to take for development because it was one of the most popular ideas which was selected by my peers. I also picked this idea as I felt it was the most interesting! The idea of an activity sheet will be good for children when they are learning to make the recipes. I also felt that the incorporation of  a character into the design made it look more colourful and exciting. I also felt that this idea worked well with both audiences, why? The learning side to the layout will be effective for children and it also helps adults take part in the recipes. I also thought of including ‘Adult Alert’ icons for when children are cooking. I feel that this will help children learn to be safe when using utensils in the kitchen but it will also involve parents into the recipe.

Now that I have selected an idea for my inner layout I am now going to test them out on computer software using the creative suite (Adobe InDesign/ Illustrator/ Photoshop):

final layout two development 2

development for inner layout 1 copy

final sheet 3 copy

Final Sheet 2 copy

On these examples I have played around with the different features which were shown in ‘Mock up idea 3’. Taking my peers advice I decided to play around with the colours. I also included different add-ons which were conventionally with book pages that I researched. I used page numbers, adult alerts and fascinating facts which were additional to the design. I felt that these ideas were suitable and made a nice finish to the design. As I needed two inner design layouts I replicated these ideas on another page (as shown above).

 

Leave a Reply

