Research into different features found in Children’s Books and E-Books

Pop-Up Books

pop up 1

Example One: I found this design online at http://edit911.com/2013/08/7-childrens-books-that-could-hit-the-big-screen/I was interested in this design as I thought it was suitable for children. The idea of looking at different art-styles is so I can get some inspiration for my designs. I like the idea of adding something to the page-spread (even the tiniest detail) to keep children aware and engaged in the page that they are looking at. I think maybe that a design like this would be unsuitable for the age range because there is a big illustration in the middle of the page and minimal text. I do however like the idea of using flaps and I think when designing a spread for the ‘family sustainable cook book’  this idea will be effective. Why? Because to get children engaged in a book it is fun to include add-ons and even though the age-range is older the idea could be used in a different way, i.e. covering up items of food. 

pop up 2

Example Two: I found this image at  http://www.chinabestprinting.com/children-s-pop-up-book-p449.html. I think this idea works well and looks effective. The whole double spread is shaped around the idea of ‘pop-ups’ and I think especially for a fictional book this idea works well. With consideration to a cookery book this design would be too busy and too hard to recreate. Maybe by using a smaller amount of ‘pop-ups’ will work more effectively. Why? By including a smaller amount of add-ons this will help to make my designs look interesting but not too clustered. Especially as the age-range is more mature it would be better to use a more minimal amount. The design below is similar but I found this design to be interesting because I think it is more suitable to the target audience (8+) set out in the brief. 

pop up 3

‘Flap Books’

flap book 2

flap book 1

flap book 3

These are examples of existing ‘flap up’ books and akin to the ‘pop-up’ they are mechanisms which keep children engaged when reading. I think that they add a nice touch to design and they are useful learning devices for children. The examples here show how only parts of the image are moved. The flaps are normally used in books to hide away information. This would be useful in a book teaching children how to cook as they can be used to cover up any facts about the food. The main brief focuses on food which has been locally sourced and grown, therefore, it might be an idea in the design to include some background information about the food to help children learn about healthier foods.

Activity Ideas for Children

 activity 1

activity 2

Here are two different examples of food activity worksheets that can be included for children’s cook books. I think that an idea like this would be suitable for 8 year olds as again it helps them to get involved in the work.

I found a book that I believed targeted the appropriate age-group (8+)  it had appropriate title and imagery but also the book included different categories that children could get involved with. I thought that this was a good idea to help keep children engaged with their work. For a cookbook, this idea could be used as the children are cooking.

activity book 1 (1) activity book 1 (2) activity book 1 (3) activity book 1 (4) activity book 1 (5)

I think that this is an interesting design, it mainly focuses on illustration for imagery, but I think that it works effectively. I like the idea of have an ‘activity’ page. I think that it is relevant to targeted audience it has a sophisticated but simple look.

Learning Wheel Idea

 wheel 1

wheel 2

wheel 3

From researching different children’s books targeted for (8+ ) year olds I found these designs. The use of a ‘learning wheel’ I think is very effective because it condenses large amounts of information into smaller chunks. With relation to a children’s cookery book this idea could be used instead of a ‘story book’ design. When reaching the next step the child would simply just have to turn the wheel and then the recipe would not become too over complicated. To avoid getting grease or food on the wheel it could be laminated and then wiped? I think that this is a good invention as it saves a lot of space and can hold a lot of information.

Sound Devices

sound 1 sound 2 sound 3

When researching through existing children’s book designs I found these examples which use sound devices. Like an activity book these books are designed to keep children focused and entertained. These ideas are perhaps a little too young for the age-group in question, however, the idea of maybe just one sound button could be effective? I.e. it could be used when an ‘adult is needed’ or to describe certain foods.

Character Books

character 1 character 2 character 3

The use of characters is another factor which I found in the various children books that I researched.  I think that it is a nice idea and this is because children these days are familiar with characters that they have read with literature or that they have seen on TV. Above are examples of this idea including Disney + Winnie the Pooh, each of which are not only memorable to children but are also loved by adults. I selected these particular examples because I believe that they target the appropriate audience (8+). When creating my own page spreads/cover for the ‘Family Sustainable Cookbook’ I may introduce my own character and this is because I want my book to be interesting and entertaining.

Books with Extras, Gadgets, Colouring etc.

crayons 1

http://www.hellowonderful.co/post/10-KID-FRIENDLY-KITCHEN-TOOLS-AND-GADGETS [Accessed 14 March 2014].

‘Gadgetology’ was a book that I found when researching ‘extras’ that could be used in children’s cookery books. As well as including recipes for children to make this book looks at different ‘crafts, games and experiments’ each of which are used to enhance children’s learning.  I think that this book is interesting and I think that it is a clever idea. I think also that it is suitable for the age-group (8+) and this is because the features/ colours are presented in an effective but mature way.

colouring 2colouring 3

These are a couple of examples of children’s books which include colouring crayons. This again is another idea to help children learn whilst cooking. There could be images in black and white which they colour in? Boxes that they tick off after they finish each step? As for the target audience I think that this idea would be suitable , this because, of the characters that are included but also to keep them entertained as the food is cooking?

Characters: As explored in several designs that I have explored there is often a character included in a book designed for this age-group. I think it might be an idea to introduce my own to make the book more interesting. The character could introduce different ‘fascinating features’ about the book but could also warn children throughout the recipe if they need an adult to help when they are cooking food?

E-Books

e-books

E-Books are an electronic version of a printed book which can be accessed on a computer screen or on a handheld device including a tablet or phone.  Children’s books too can now be found on these devices and e-books are becoming more popular with children.

                           e-book 2 e-book 1

                                                                            http://www.kidsworldfun.com/ebooks.php

‘The Mouse That Was’ is an example of an book that children can access online, the book can also be downloaded as a PDF file for children to read later. The website ‘kidsworldfun.com’ includes a variety of different stories which anyone can access online.

                                                                            tablet

ipad ebook

This image shows an example of how children’s books are shown on an iPad and the content looks the same as it would inside a book but this is displayed electronically. The design that I create for my recipe book can be visualised in this format on screen.

Iphone ebook

This image shows how children’s books can be displayed on an iPhone as well and this is another way in which children of this age -group can access information interactively as an alternative to reading a paper based book.

Leave a Reply

